Society for Endocrinology - a world-leading authority on hormones

About us

Council and Committee nominations

The Society regularly seeks new members to join its Council and committees to help shape the future of endocrinology.

We have vacancies for Council and Committees (deadline 13 September).

We are seeking a range of individuals from all career levels, backgrounds, areas of expertise and locations to bring fresh perspectives and new ideas that represent our diverse membership, champion all facets of endocrinology, and help maximise the impact of the Society for Endocrinology to our members and the wider world.

Read about our Diversity, inclusion and selection processes for all vacancies.

Call for nominations for Council members

There are three vacancies on Council from November at the AGM. The term of office is 4 years.

Professor Ruth Andrew, Professor Mark Gurnell and Professor Martin Hewison are stepping down and Chair of Council from November will be Professor Raj Thakker. Read the Council remit.

Society members may apply or nominate others (with their permission) using the Council nomination form below. The deadline is 13 September 2019.

Council nomination form

Committee vacancies from January 2020

Committee members also help to advance their own careers by sharing their expertise, further developing leadership skills and working with other leaders in the field.

We are indebted to those who volunteer their time and expertise in order to carry out the activities of committees. Details of the work of each committee can be found within their remits on the specific committee pages.

Committee members' key responsibilities:

  • Attending all or most committee meetings which normally take place in London 2-3 times a year
    • The Society will reimburse travel expenses 
    • Typical length of committee meeting is 2-3 hours
    • Members are notified of meeting dates 9-12 months in advance
    • Meeting agenda and papers are circulated 1-2 weeks in advance of meeting
    • Upon election, new members are provided with the minutes of the last meeting
  • Being available for consultation on committee-related matters in between meetings, primarily by email 

The term of office of an elected member on most committees is 4 years.

Read our committee members' testimonials about the value and benefits of being part of a Society committee in The Endocrine Post and The Endocrinologist  

Members may apply themselves or nominate other members.

Please complete and return the form below by 13 September 2019.

Further details particular to each committee vacancy can be found below and the full remits are available on the relevant Committee pages.

Committee nomination form


Nominate online

Clinical Committee

There is one vacancy for a member who ideally will have a academic interests, especially in reproductive endocrinology, to provide more balance on the committee.

There is also one vacancy for a clinical trainee commencing January 2020. The role has a 4 year term or until completion of clinical training. As well as participating in Clinical Committee meetings and business, you will also represent the views of early career clinicians. The successful candidate will be expected to join the Early Career Steering Group, attending 1-2 of their meetings and providing email input when requested. You will also attend meetings of the RCP Joint Specialty Committee. Visit the Clinical Committee page for a full remit and details of current committee members.

Corporate Liaison Committee

The role has a 3 year term, we will be selecting members who are able to foster partnerships and collaborations between the Society and industry for mutually beneficial projects which further patient care and education. Visit the Corporate Liaison Committee page for a full remit and details of current committee members.

Early Career Steering Group

The term of office is 3 years. We have vacancies for two scientist members either working towards a PhD or up to 7 years post-PhD, and for a clinician member at least 3 years pre-completion of clinical training. Visit the Early Career Steering Group for a full remit and details of current group members.

Nurse Committee

The role has a 4 year term. Visit the Nurse Committee page for a full remit and details of current committee members. We are particularly seeking nominations from Wales to ensure adequate representation of all UK nations.

Programme Committee

The role has a 4 year term. Elected members are required to attend the one Programme Committee meeting per year; this is a two-day meeting with the next one being held on 22-23 January 2020. Visit the Programme Committee page for a full remit and details of current committee members.

Public Engagement

The term of office is 4 years. Visit the Public Engagement Committee page for a full remit and details of current committee members. Some members of this committee fulfil specific roles, i.e. Media, Best Practice, Member Training – you can find more details below. Please highlight on the nomination form if you have any extra experience or expertise in these areas.

Specific roles

Science Committee

The role has a 4 year term.  In addition to the Committee members' key responsibilities mentioned above, members of this committee act as the marking panel for the Society’s grant applications. Visit the Science Committee page for a full remit and details of current committee members.