Society for Endocrinology - a world-leading authority on hormones

Outstanding Clinical Practitioner Award

To celebrate an outstanding clinical practitioner who has made a significant contribution to the endocrine community and showed commitment to developing and delivering excellent innovative endocrine care for the benefit of patients.

COVID-19 update for Grants & Awards

Congratulations to the 2023 winner of the Outstanding Clinical Practitioner Award, Professor Richard Quinton.


W Drake

K Meeran



K Boealaert

H Simpson


The individual may have achieved within (though not limited to) the following areas:

  • Delivery of exceptional clinical care
  • Development and leadership of exceptional clinical care
  • Teaching and training

Applications are welcomed from within tertiary and secondary care services from a full range of hospital sizes. Applications from consultants at non-teaching hospitals are especially encouraged.

The award winner will receive an honorarium of £750 and free travel, registration and accommodation to attend the Society for Endocrinology BES conference, where they will share their achievement via a presentation. They will also be asked to input to an article for The Endocrinologist magazine.



Applications open in March 2023 and the deadline is 11:59pm on Monday 3 July 2023.


  • Travel/registration/accommodation for our SfE BES conference to present their work
  • £750 honorarium
  • Publish an article in our Society magazine, The Endocrinologist


• Current Society member
• Practising clinical practitioners at any stage of their career, based in the UK

How to apply

Complete the application form and return it to

Applications must be submitted as a Word document.

The Award will be made based on (but not limited to):

  • A description of the achievement
  • How the achievement has positively affected / shown commitment to developing and delivering excellent endocrine care for the benefit of patients.
Download the application form