Society for Endocrinology - a world-leading authority on hormones


SfE BES Online Award winners

Each year the Society recognises the achievements of some of the world's leading endocrinologists. Congratulations to all this year’s medallists, prize winners and awardees.

Dale Medal

Professor Dame Frances Ashcroft

University of Oxford

Dale Medal Lecture 2020: Professor Dame Frances Ashcroft is Professor of Physiology at the University of Oxford, a Fellow of Trinity College Oxford, and a Fellow of the Royal Society.

Society for Endocrinology Medal Lecture

Professor David Ray

University of Oxford

Society for Endocrinology Medal Lecture: David trained in general internal medicine in North West England, and obtained a PhD from the University of Manchester.

Jubilee Medal Lecture

Professor Anne White

Jubilee Medal Lecture: Having graduated in biochemistry at the University of Manchester, Anne gained her PhD studying the cell biology of hybridomas.

Starling Medal Lecture

Professor Davide Calebiro

University of Birmingham

Starling Medal Lecture: Davide Calebiro is Professor of Molecular Endocrinology and Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow at the Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research (IMSR) and Centre of Membrane Proteins and Receptors (COMPARE) of the University of Birmingham.

International Medal Lecture

Dr. David Mangelsdorf

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

International Medal Lecture: Dr. David J. Mangelsdorf is the Alfred G. Gilman Professor and Chair of the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

Transatlantic Medal Lecture

Dr. Daniel Drucker

University of Toronto Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute

Transatlantic Medal Lecture: Dr. Drucker graduated in medicine from the University of Toronto (1980), and received postgraduate training (medicine and endocrinology) at Johns Hopkins Hospital (1980-81), the University of Toronto (1980-84) and the Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School (1984-87).

European Medal Lecture

Professor Nelly Pitteloud

Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois (CHUV) Lausanne

European Medal Lecture: Professor Nelly Pitteloud is a global leader in Reproductive Endocrinology, who assumed direction of the Endocrinology, Diabetes & Paediatric Service at Lausanne University Hospital in 2010, following 12 hugely productive years spend at Harvard with Bill Crowley at Harvard.

Early Career

Dr. Kate Lines

University of Oxford

Early Career Prize Lectures: Dr Kate Lines is a BMS Research Fellow at the University of Oxford.

Dr. Steve Millership

Imperial College London

Early Career Prize Lectures: Dr. Millership's research has focused on the mechanisms of cellular homeostasis and dysfunction using mammalian model organisms.

Clinical Endocrinology Trust Lecture

Professor Fredrik Karpe

University of Oxford

Clinical Endocrinology Trust Lecture: Professor Fredrik Karpe is a physician-scientist who is professor of metabolic medicine at the University of Oxford and head of OCDEM.

CET Visiting Professor Lecture

Professor Mirjam Christ-Crain

University Hospital Basel, University of Basel

CET Visiting Professor Lecture: Professor Mirjam Christ-Crain is full Professor of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism at the University of Basel and the University Hospital of Basel, Switzerland.

British Thyroid Association Pitt Rivers Lecture

Dr. Frederic Flamant

Institut de Génomique Fonctionnelle de Lyon

British Thyroid Association Pitt Rivers Lecture: Dr. Frédéric Flamant received a Ph.D. in molecular and cellular biology in Lyon France. He is now research director at INRAE.

Leadership and Development Awardees

Alexander Comninos

Imperial College London

Clinical Academics: His research is focused on Reproductive Endocrinology and funded by fellowships, lectureships and grants from the Wellcome Trust, NIHR and MRC.

Julia Prague

Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust and University of Exeter

Clinical Academics: She qualified in 2008 from Guy's, King's, and St Thomas' School of Medicine with a double Distinction and First Class Honours.

Peter Taylor

Cardiff University and the University Hospital of Wales

Clinical Academics: He completed his PhD in thyroid epidemiology.

Safwaan Adam

The Christie Hospital, Manchester

Clinician-in-Practice: Following graduation from the University of Cape Town, Safwaan underwent early post-graduate training in South Africa and New Zealand before specialist endocrinology training in the North West of England.

Justyna Witczak

University Hospital of Wales in Cardiff

Clinician-in-Practice: She completed her MD at Cardiff University on characterisation of circulating extracellular vesicles in human obesity.

Claire Fletcher

Imperial College London

Scientist: Awarded a PhD in prostate cancer molecular biology in 2013.

Tijana Mitic

University of Edinburgh

Scientist: Obtained her PhD from the University of Edinburgh in 2010 where she completed a short postdoc.